VNAA - Visiting Nurse Associations of America

2011 VNAA National Awards

Recognize Outstanding Individuals at Your Agency

Each year, the VNAA recognizes outstanding individuals who strive to advance the nonprofit home healthcare and hospice industry and who provide exceptional services and care to those in need. This is an opportunity to recognize the dedicated people who make a difference in your office.

How to Submit a Nomination

How do I nominate someone for a VNAA national award? It is easy - decide which award you want to nominate this person for then fill out the online nomination form. All nominations must be submitted online only. Nominations will be reviewed against prescribed criteria and award recipients will be selected by the VNAA National Awards Committee except for the Grassroots Advocate of the Year Award which will be selected by the Policy Council. Please submit only one nomination per category, but you can nominate multiple people for different categories.

(Before submitting, please review the guidelines for how to submit an application, download it - click here.)

Nominations must be received by 5:00 p.m., EST on Friday, December 17, 2010.

National Award Descriptions and Guidelines

 Download the One Page Award Descriptions...

 Download Guidelines for Submitting an Awards Nomination...

Administrative Manager of the Year

The Administrative Manager of the Year Award recognizes contributions by a home health or hospice program manager in administrative functions (rather than clinical areas.) It recognizes outstanding managers who have made major contributions to the mission of their home health or hospice agency through areas including, but not limited to:

  • Financial management
  • Development
  • Public relations
  • Marketing
  • Information management
  • Human resources management

General indicators of success encompass building a more effective and efficient organization from an administrative perspective as reflected in agency growth, financial success, employee satisfaction, and/or positive community impact.

Clinician of the Year

The Clinician of the Year Award honors a nonprofit home healthcare or hospice clinician working in a non-supervisory position (e.g., nurse, therapist, home health aide) whose achievements and contributions have enriched the individual's agency, the lives of his/her patients, and the image of the profession. This person should demonstrate an awareness of the total person in clinical interventions - physically, emotionally and spiritually - and take a culturally sensitive approach in care, with regard to ethnicity and socio-economic factors. Attributes of the award recipient may include:

  • Adding to the patient's quality of life
  • Increasing community awareness of home healthcare, hospice and VNA services
  • Participating in community or civic activities that have served to promote home healthcare or hospice
  • Acting as a member of a professional healthcare/homecare/hospice association

Dick Anderton Mentor of the Year

The Dick Anderton Mentor of the Year Award is the highest honor that VNAA can bestow on a leader of a nonprofit home healthcare or hospice provider. Named for the late Dick Anderton (the 1989 recipient), the Award recognizes outstanding contributions of an individual to the national nonprofit home healthcare and hospice movement. Active participation and demonstrated leadership in VNAA through such areas as committees, task forces and boards, should be in evidence. This outstanding leader shares knowledge and resources and mentors VNAA members, as well as his/her own staff. Who is Dick Anderton?...Read more about him.

Grassroots Advocate of the Year

The Grassroots Advocate of the Year Award recognizes strong and innovative outreach to policymakers on the federal and state levels. Recipients of the award promote the role and services of nonprofit home health and/or hospice to their policymakers.

Examples of activities include but are not limited to:

  • Active participation in VNAA advocacy efforts
  • Successful events involving Members of Congress or Administration officials related to home health or hospice visits done in conjunction with VNAA's policy agenda.
  • Innovation in terms of grassroots lobbying that can be shared with VNAA member agencies.
  • Strategic relationship building with congressional offices;
  • Presence at local events organized by congressional offices.

Program Manager of the Year

The Program Manager of the Year Award recognizes contributions by a home healthcare or hospice program manager. These contributions may include:

  • Development and implementation of a new or non-traditional program
  • Managing and growing established program services and resources
  • Institutionalizing quality standards
  • Activities that significantly improve the agency and its ability to serve the community

General indicators of success encompass satisfaction level and number of customers served, financial gain, public recognition, and forging new and non-traditional partnerships.

Volunteer of the Year - Agency Board Member

The Volunteer of the Year - Agency Board Member Award recognizes a board member who best exemplifies the spirit of volunteerism. This is the board member who "goes the extra mile" when it comes to service to their agency. Nominee criteria include:

  • Serving as a resource to the agency and staff
  • Providing support to the organization's activities and programs
  • Promoting the organization's image and community visibility.

Include contributions that this nominee has made at both the local and national levels that go beyond their own agency.

Volunteer of the Year - Individual Care Provider

The Volunteer of the Year - Individual Care Provider Award recognizes an outstanding volunteer and his/her efforts to care for the individual patient. Salute an individual who best demonstrates the ideals of volunteerism through providing direct services to or for patients (rather than the agency.) This category includes nominees from all volunteer programs including hospice, meals-on-wheels, flu prevention, senior companions, or any other volunteer programs that your agency provides.

View 2010 Annual Meeting Award Recipients

Check out the 2010 National Award Recipients, click here.
Recipients are honored at the VNAA National Awards Luncheon held during the VNAA Annual Meeting.

Please direct all questions to [email protected] or 202-384-1420.

Follow VNAA on Twitter

Copyright 2010 - Visiting Nurse Associations of America (VNAA)