116 Members of Congress Urge CMS to Withdraw Prior Authorization Proposal in Bipartisan Letter - VNAA - The Visiting Nurse Associations of America Skip to Navigation
On Thursday, May 25, a bipartisan coalition of 116 Members of the House of Representatives sent the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) a letter urging for it to withdraw its proposal for a prior authorization demonstration.

The letter, led by Representatives James McGovern (D-MA) and Tom Price (R-GA), echoes many of the concerns raised by VNAA and over 250 other organizations in comments submitted in early April. VNAA applauds the Representatives for their leadership and commitment, as well as all of our members who contacted their Member of Congress urging them to sign this important letter.

VNAA has drafted a thank you letter template for those who would like to send a note to their Representative for signing onto this effort. Please feel free to customize with additional information as you see fit.

Please contact VNAA Director of Legislative Affairs Nathan Constable if you have any questions. 

Prior Authorization Letter Co-Signors

Rep. Ralph Abraham (R-LA) Rep. Cresent Hardy (R-NV) Rep. Patrick Murphy (D-FL)
Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-AL)
Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD) Rep. Richard Neal (D-MA)
Rep. Rick Allen (R-GA) Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO) Rep. Randy Neugebauer (R-TX)
Rep. Brad Ashford (D-NE) Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL) Rep. Rich Nugent (R-FL)
Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX) Rep. Joe Heck (R-NV) Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX)
Rep. Lou Barletta (R-PA) Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) Rep. Gary Palmer (R-AL)
Rep. Mike Bishop (R-MI) Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY) Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA)
Rep. Diane Black (R-TN) Rep. French Hill (R-AR) Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN)
Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC) Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX)
Rep. Rod Blum (R-IA) Rep. Bill Huizenga (R-MI) Rep. Mike Pompeo (R-KS)
Rep. Charles Boustany (R-LA) Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX) Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-TX)
Rep. Robert Brady (D-PA) Rep. Robert Hurt (R-VA) Rep. Cedric Richmond (D-LA)
Rep. Mo Brooks (R-AL) Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA) Rep. Martha Roby (R-AL)
Rep. Corrine Brown (D-FL) Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX) Rep. Phil Roe (R-TN)
Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL) Rep. Evan Jenkins (R-WV) Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)
Rep. Larry Bucshon (R-IN) Rep. Lynn Jenkins (R-KS) Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
Rep. Bradley Byrne (R-AL) Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA)
Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA) Rep. Sam Johnson (R-TX) Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX)
Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH) Rep. David Jolly (R-FL) Rep. Terri Sewell (R-AL)
Rep. Katherine Clark (D-MA) Rep. Walter Jones (R-NC) Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)
Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY) Rep. Bill Keating (D-MA) Rep. Krysten Sinema (D-AZ)
Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX) Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA) Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ)
Rep. Ryan Costello (R-PA) Rep. Joe Kennedy (D-MA) Rep. Jason Smith (R-MO)
Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-ND) Rep. Peter King (R-NY) Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR) Rep. Steve King (R-IA) Rep. Glen Thompson (R-PA)
Rep. John Culberson (R-TX) Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ) Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX)
Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL) Rep. Annie Kuster (D-NH) Rep. Scott Tipton (R-CO)
Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA) Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO) Rep. Niki Tsongas (D-MA)
Rep. Bob Dold (R-IL) Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM) Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-NY)
Rep. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) Rep. Stephen Lynch (D-MA) Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI)
Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-SC) Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-TX) Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX)
Rep. Sam Farr (D-CA) Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA) Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)
Rep. John Fleming (R-LA) Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX) Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR)
Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX) Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN) Rep. Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA)
Rep. Garret Graves (R-LA) Rep. David McKinley (R-WV) Rep. Ed Whitfield (R-KY)
Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA) Rep. Patrick Meehan (R-PA) Rep. Roger Williams (R-TX)
Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA) Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA) Rep. Steve Womack (R-AR)
Rep. Glenn Grothman (R-WI) Rep. Mick Mulvaney (R-SC) Rep. Ryan Zinke (R-MT)

.  2121 Crystal Drive, Suite 750, Arlington, VA 22202

.  571-527-1520 / 888-866-8773

.  [email protected]